Cosmetic Pen Sizes and Capacities: What 44 Models Actually Measure
A pen catalogue page gives you a photograph and a capacity, and the capacity is the least informative of the three numbers. Take the 44 pen models sitting in our own charts: the same 4 ml fill turns up in bodies that differ by 61.8 mm in length. The same 10 ml turns up in a body 81.3 mm long, and in one 149 mm long.
That is not a quirk of one supplier’s range. It is what happens when a format is defined by a mechanism rather than by a volume: the dose the mechanism has to move, the travel it needs, and the way the user holds the thing all push the body around independently of how much liquid goes in.
So this page is the size data, organised the way it is actually useful — by capacity, across families, rather than family by family with a single range. Every figure is from our own charts. Where the source does not state a value, this page says so rather than filling the gap.
Capacity does not fix length
The clearest way to see it is to hold one capacity still and watch the body move.
| Fill | Models | Body diameter | Body length | Length spread |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 ml | 4 | Ø11.85–13.55 mm | 125.0–135.11 mm | 10.1 mm |
| 4 ml | 9 | Ø15.1–17.02 mm | 83.6–145.4 mm | 61.8 mm |
| 6 ml | 2 | Ø17.23–19.95 mm | 136.1–136.35 mm | 0.25 mm |
| 10 ml | 2 | Ø19.75–30.0 mm | 81.3–149.0 mm | 67.7 mm |
Two things in that table are worth stopping on.
The 4 ml row is the crowded one — nine of the 44 models, drawn from three different families — and it is also the row with the widest length spread. A 4 ml pen can be a 83.6 mm body that sits low in the hand, or a 145.4 mm body that behaves like a full-length liner. Nothing about the fill tells you which you are buying.
The 10 ml row is the opposite: two models, and they are not variations on each other. One is Ø30.0 × 81.3 mm. The other is Ø19.75 × 149 mm. Roughly the same volume of product, two entirely different objects — one short and wide enough to be a body format, one a long slim pen. Same capacity, different product.
And the 6 ml pair runs the other way: nearly identical length, 0.25 mm apart, with the width doing the work instead. If you were choosing by capacity alone you would call those two models the same pen. They are not.
The five families, by what they actually hold
Organised by family, the ranges look like this. Note where the members are numerous and where a “family” is really two or three shapes.
| Family | Models | Capacities held | Body Ø | Body length | Materials | Tip counts charted |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liquid twist | 12 | 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 10 ml | Ø11.85–19.95 mm | 97.6–149.0 mm | PP with POM/POK on 10; aluminium on 5; PC on 1; PETG on 1 | 10 of 12 |
| Special twist | 7 | 1.5, 2.6, 2.8, 3.5, 4, 10 ml | Ø11.85–30.0 mm | 81.3–129.26 mm | PP with POM/POK on 6; PC on 3; aluminium on 1; one all-PP | 2 of 7 |
| Liquid click | 7 | 2.8, 3, 4 ml | Ø13.15–17.0 mm | 123.85–145.4 mm | PP with POM/POK; aluminium on 3 | 7 of 7 |
| Auto-flow | 6 | 3 ml stated on 4 models | Ø13.18–26.08 mm | 97.4–131.8 mm | PP on 4, ABS on 2 | 0 of 6 |
| Solid | 12 | not stated in the source | Ø6.63–22.69 mm | 85.65–153.0 mm | ABS on 8; ABS with an aluminium collar on 3; PP on 1 | 0 of 12 |
Three observations that the family labels hide.
Liquid twist is a range, not a shape. Twelve models span a body diameter ratio of nearly 1.7:1 and a length ratio of about 1.5:1, and they hold six different fills. It is the family with the most internal variety, which is why “a twist pen” as a brief is close to meaningless without a size attached.
Liquid click is the tightest family. Seven models, three fills, and the whole family lives between Ø13.15 and Ø17.0 — a 3.85 mm band. Click mechanisms constrain the body more than twist does, and the data shows it.
Solid is the widest spread in the whole range, and the only family with no capacity at all. Twelve models from Ø6.63 to Ø22.69 — a wider proportional spread than any other family here — and the source charts no fill for any of them. That is not an omission we are patching over: on a solid format the fill is the product itself, and its life is decided by how fast the column wears down, not by how much the body holds. A capacity figure there would be a number without a meaning.
What the materials do, in one paragraph
Counted across all 44 models, the dominant construction is not a single material but a pairing — PP for the body with POM/POK for the moving parts, which is how 24 of the 44 are specified. Aluminium appears as a body or collar on 12 models and never on its own. ABS carries the solid family almost to the exclusion of anything else. The full spread across all seven materials, and what a material change costs once tooling exists, is more than fits here and is the subject of its own piece.
What is not in this data
Two gaps, stated rather than smoothed over.
Only 19 of the 44 models carry a charted tip count in the source: 14 models chart 36 tip options, four chart 15, and one charts four. The other 25 — all twelve solid models and all six auto-flow models among them — have no tip chart to publish. We list the count per model on the pen page rather than quoting a family average, because an average across models that were charted and models that were not would describe no pen you can order.
And the figures here describe the bodies in our own range, not the theoretical envelope of the format. A pen range with 44 models in it is a working selection, not a census of what is manufacturable.
Using this when you brief
The practical sequence is short. Decide the fill from the dose budget and the intended number of uses, not from what looks generous on a spec sheet. Then choose the body length by how the pen is held and where it is carried — that is the number that decides whether the thing feels like a pen or like a small bottle. Then check the diameter against the cap, the label and the carton, because a 6 mm diameter difference is a different packaging line item further down.
Do those in the other order and you will usually end up re-cutting something. Capacity is the last constraint to bind, not the first.
The model-by-model data behind these tables — every capacity, diameter, length, material and charted tip count — is published family by family on the cosmetic pens page. For how the families differ mechanically and which one suits which application, see the five pen formats. Know the size you need already? Put the model number in the quotation form and we will come back with a specification.